FB Twitter

Twitter FAQ's.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Twitter?


Twitter is a service for friends, family, and coworkers to communicate and stay connected through the exchange of quick, frequent messages. People post Tweets, which may contain photos, videos, links, and text. These messages are posted to your profile, sent to your followers, and are searchable on Twitter search.




Do I need anything special to use it?


All you need to use Twitter is an internet connection or a mobile phone. Join us here! Once you're in, begin finding and following accounts whose Tweets interest you. We'll recommend great accounts once you're signed up.




What's a Tweet?


A Tweet is any message posted to Twitter which may contain photos, videos, links, and text. Click or tap the Tweetbutton to post the update to your profile.




How can I send updates to Twitter?


Type your Tweet (up to 280 characters) into the compose box at the top of your Home timeline, or click the Tweetbutton in the navigation bar. You can include up to 4 photos, a GIF, or a video in your Tweet. Click the Tweet button to post the Tweet to your profile.




How to post photos or GIFs on Twitter


From the Tweet compose box, click the photo icon to upload a photo or GIF from your computer. Tip: Read about how to include a video in your Tweet. To search for and select a GIF from the GIF library, click the GIF icon
Note: Animated GIFs can't be included in Tweets with multiple images. You can send only one GIF in a Tweet. Once you choose a photo or GIF, the image will attach to your Tweet in full size. You can select up to 4 photos to Tweet at once. Click Tweet to post.




How to share and watch videos on Twitter


There are four ways to share videos on Twitter: Record: You can record, edit and share videos from the Twitter app (Twitter for iPhone or Twitter for Android OS 4.1 and higher). Import: If you use the Twitter for iPhone or iPad app, you can import videos from your device. Upload: You can upload videos to twitter.com. Go live: Learn how to create a live video right from your Twitter app.




How to create live videos on Twitter


How to start a live video: Tap the icon from the composer. Tap Live at the bottom selector. To go live with audio but not video, tap the microphoneat the top right. This will turn off the camera, and you’ll be heard by viewers, but not seen. Fill in an optional description that will appear as a Tweet, and a location if desired. To invite guests before going live, tap Invite guests to select or search for people to join your broadcast. Tap the profile icon of the guests you want to join. Tap Save. Tap Go live. Your live broadcast, with description and location (if added), will appear in a Tweet in your follower's timeline and on your profile. How to end a live video:
You can end a live video at any time by pressing the Stop button on the top left and confirming your action in the menu that comes up.




How to approve or deny follower requests


Go to your profile. Click on Followers. Then click Pending follower requests to view the people who have requested to follow you. Click Accept or Decline.




To send a Direct Message from Twitter for iOS


Tap the envelope icon. You’ll be directed to your messages. Tap the message icon to create a new message. In the address box, enter the name(s) or @username(s) of the people you wish to send a message to. A group message can include up to 50 people. Enter your message. In addition to text, you can include a photo, video, or GIF with your Direct Message. From the message compose bar, or the plus icon you can access the following options: Tap the photo icon to take a photo or record a video, or attach one from your device gallery. You have the option to edit your photo before sending your message. Tap on the photo to bring up editing screen where you can enhance, crop, and add filters. When you are done editing, tap Save. Learn more about advanced photo options. To add an iOS Live Photo as a GIF, add your photo, then tap on the GIF badge in the lower-left corner of the iOS Live Photo. To include an animated GIF in your message, tap the GIF icon to search for and select a file from the media library. To send your message, tap the paper airplane icon




To delete a Direct Message or conversation:


To delete a Direct Message, tap and hold the message and select Delete message from the menu that pops up. To delete an entire conversation from your inbox, swipe left on the conversation and tap the trash can icon You can also delete an entire conversation by tapping the information icon and selecting Delete conversation from the Conversation info page. When you delete a Direct Message or conversation (sent or received), it is deleted from your account only. Others in the conversation will still be able to see Direct Messages or conversations that you have deleted.




To manage a group conversation:


To quickly access the list of conversation participants, tap the profile photo of the group conversation from your inbox. From within a group conversation, tap on the informationicon to bring up a settings page. Settings details: Tap Edit to update the group conversation profile photo and name. To change the photo, tap the camera icon in the photo to Choose from libraryor Take new photo. Tap Save to update.
Note: Once you update the photo, you’ll have the option to Remove current photo, View current photo, Choose from library, or Take new photo. Tap Add members to add people to the conversation. Drag the slider next to Mute conversation to mute notifications for 1 hour, 8 hours, 1 week, or Forever. Drag the slider next to Mute mentions to control whether you will receive notifications when you are mentioned in a group conversation. Please note that, unless this feature is enabled, you will receive notifications when you are directly mentioned in a conversation, even if you have enabled the Mute conversation feature. Additionally, you must be a participant in a group conversation to receive mention notifications for that conversation. To report the group conversation, tap Report conversation. To remove yourself from the group conversation, tap Leave conversation.




How to change your username


How to change your username Click on the more button from the navigation bar. Click on Settings and privacy. Under Account, update the username currently listed in the Username field. If the username is taken, you'll be prompted to choose another one. Click the Save button.